Review: Full Disclosure by Camryn Garrett

Genre: YA contemporary Publisher: Knopf Publication date: October 29, 2019 In a community that isn’t always understanding, an HIV-positive teen must navigate fear, disclosure, and radical self-acceptance when she falls in love–and lust–for the first time. Powerful and uplifting, Full Disclosure will speak to fans of Angie Thomas and Nicola Yoon. Simone Garcia-Hampton is startingContinue reading “Review: Full Disclosure by Camryn Garrett”

Review: Redwood and Ponytail by K.A. Holt

Genre: Middle grade contemporary, novel-in-verse Publisher: Chronicle Books Publication date: October 1, 2019 Told in verse in two voices, with a chorus of fellow students, this is a story of two girls, opposites in many ways, who are drawn to each other; Kate appears to be a stereotypical cheerleader with a sleek ponytail and aContinue reading “Review: Redwood and Ponytail by K.A. Holt”

Review: Me, Myself, And Him by Chris Tebbetts

Genre: YA contemporary/speculative fiction Publisher: Delacorte Press Publication date: July 9, 2019 Perfect for fans of Becky Albertali’s Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda and A. S. King’s Still Life with Tornado, this story of parallel time lines cleverly explores how our choices can change and shape us–as well as the ways in which choicesContinue reading “Review: Me, Myself, And Him by Chris Tebbetts”

ARC Review: Brave Face by Shaun David Hutchinson

Genre: YA memoir (nonfiction) Publisher: Simon Pulse Publication date: May 20, 2019 Critically acclaimed author of We Are the Ants—described as having “hints of Vonnegut’s Slaughterhouse-Five” (School Library Journal)—opens up about what led to an attempted suicide in his teens, and his path back from the experience. “I wasn’t depressed because I was gay. IContinue reading “ARC Review: Brave Face by Shaun David Hutchinson”

ARC Review: The Backstagers and the Theater of the Ancients by Andy Mientus

Genre: Middle grade fantasy Publisher: Amulet Books Publication Date: March 19, 2019 After saving the day and stopping the ghost from taking over their theater, things are quiet for the Backstagers of the St. Genesius School Drama Club. Too quiet. But when that quiet is filled by a mysterious voice that haunts the Backstagers dayContinue reading “ARC Review: The Backstagers and the Theater of the Ancients by Andy Mientus”

ARC Review: You Asked for Perfect by Laura Silverman

Genre: YA contemporary Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire Publication date: March 3, 2019 Senior Ariel Stone is the perfect college applicant: first chair violin, dedicated community volunteer, and expected valedictorian. He works hard – really hard – to make his life look effortless. A failed Calculus quiz is not part of that plan. Not when he’s numberContinue reading “ARC Review: You Asked for Perfect by Laura Silverman”

ARC Review: The Past and Other Things That Should Stay Buried by Shaun David Hutchinson

Genre: YA sci-fi-ish contemporary Publisher: Simon Pulse Release date: February 19, 2019 Synopsis: A good friend will bury your body, a best friend will dig you back up. Dino doesn’t mind spending time with the dead. His parents own a funeral home, and death is literally the family business. He’s just not used to themContinue reading “ARC Review: The Past and Other Things That Should Stay Buried by Shaun David Hutchinson”

ARC Review: Summer Bird Blue by Akemi Dawn Bowman

Genre: YA contemporary Release Date: September 11, 2018 Publisher: Simon Pulse Summary: A mixed race teen struggles to find her way back to her love of music in the wake of her sister’s tragic death in this incisive, lyrical novel that’s perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Jennifer Niven, by the author of WilliamContinue reading “ARC Review: Summer Bird Blue by Akemi Dawn Bowman”

ARC Review: Fresh Ink (anthology)

Genre: YA contemporary/science-fiction/fantasy/graphic novel/historical fiction Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers Publication Date: August 14, 2018 Synopsis: In partnership with We Need Diverse Books, thirteen of the most recognizable, diverse authors come together in this remarkable YA anthology featuring ten short stories, a graphic short story, and a one-act play from Walter Dean Myers neverContinue reading “ARC Review: Fresh Ink (anthology)”

Review: You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone by Rachel Lynn Solomon

Publication date: January 2, 2018 Genre: YA contemporary Publisher: Simon Pulse Summary: Eighteen-year-old twins Adina and Tovah have little in common besides their ambitious nature. Viola prodigy Adina yearns to become a soloist—and to convince her music teacher he wants her the way she wants him. Overachiever Tovah awaits her acceptance to Johns Hopkins, theContinue reading “Review: You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone by Rachel Lynn Solomon”