YA Books that Describe the Magic of Music

I know I mostly talk about books here, but I also LOVE music. It’s always been a part of my life and my family’s life, and I have always loved singing in choir and going/listening to musicals. I also used to play piano and I want to get back into it soon. So naturally, IContinue reading “YA Books that Describe the Magic of Music”

Review: Merci Suarez Changes Gears by Meg Medina

Hello!! I got super sidetracked by school and theatre and all the stress and anxiety that comes with that, but now I’m back with more time to read and write and blog. This book I actually read a while ago and it came out in September, so…yeah. I’m working on the balancing/time management thing, guys.Continue reading “Review: Merci Suarez Changes Gears by Meg Medina”

ARC Review: The Backstagers and the Ghost Light by Andy Mientus

Genre: Middle grade fantasy Publisher: Abrams Release Date: September 25, 2018 Synopsis: The stage crew at St. Genesius Prep—or Backstagers, as they like to call themselves—are ready for whatever the theater world can throw their way: the madness of tech week, inevitable prop malfunctions, and all the paranormal activity that goes on behind the scenes.Continue reading “ARC Review: The Backstagers and the Ghost Light by Andy Mientus”

ARC Review: Summer Bird Blue by Akemi Dawn Bowman

Genre: YA contemporary Release Date: September 11, 2018 Publisher: Simon Pulse Summary: A mixed race teen struggles to find her way back to her love of music in the wake of her sister’s tragic death in this incisive, lyrical novel that’s perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Jennifer Niven, by the author of WilliamContinue reading “ARC Review: Summer Bird Blue by Akemi Dawn Bowman”

Review/Discussion: My Year in the Middle by Lila Quintero Weaver

Genre: Middle grade historical fiction Publisher: Candlewick Publication Date: July 10, 2018 Synopsis: In a racially polarized classroom in 1970 Alabama, Lu’s talent for running track makes her a new best friend — and tests her mettle as she navigates the school’s social cliques. Miss Garrett’s classroom is like every other at our school. WhiteContinue reading “Review/Discussion: My Year in the Middle by Lila Quintero Weaver”

ARC Review: Sadie by Courtney Summers

Genre: YA contemporary mystery/thriller Publisher: Wednesday Books Publication date: September 4, 2018 Synopsis: A gripping novel about the depth of a sister’s love; poised to be the next book you won’t be able to stop talking about. A missing girl on a journey of revenge and a Serial-like podcast following the clues she’s left behind.Continue reading “ARC Review: Sadie by Courtney Summers”

Booktubeathon: I’ve Finally Started YouTube!

I’ve been wanting to start a YouTube channel for a while, both for books and more educational endeavors. The Booktubeathon seemed like a great place to start, so here’s my TBR for the week (July 30-August 5). I’m excited to share what I’m reading and my school adventures this way, so please like and subscribeContinue reading “Booktubeathon: I’ve Finally Started YouTube!”

ARC Review: Fresh Ink (anthology)

Genre: YA contemporary/science-fiction/fantasy/graphic novel/historical fiction Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers Publication Date: August 14, 2018 Synopsis: In partnership with We Need Diverse Books, thirteen of the most recognizable, diverse authors come together in this remarkable YA anthology featuring ten short stories, a graphic short story, and a one-act play from Walter Dean Myers neverContinue reading “ARC Review: Fresh Ink (anthology)”

Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag

I was tagged by Linda over at Linda’s Little Library to do the Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag. I’m a little late for this because I was on vacation, so I’m not going to include anything I’ve read so far in July, since the end of June marked the middle of the year. 1. Best BookContinue reading “Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag”